Lesotho acceded to the APRM in July 2004 at the AU Summit held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The national process started with a national consultative workshop at the Manthabiseng National Convention Centre in Maseru in October 2005. A ministerial subcommittee was set up and a Country APR Focal Point was established within the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Relations. A broad-based and all-inclusive APRM National Governing Council (NGC) was set up and mandated to manage the APRM process in the country. The Country Support Mission (CSM) to formally launch the review process in Lesotho was fielded from 13 to 16 November 2006 under the leadership of Dr CL Stals, former member of the APR Panel. The self-assessment process was conducted by a consortium of local Technical Research Institutes (TRIs), namely the Institute of Southern African Studies (ISAS) of the National University of Lesotho (NUL) and the Lesotho Institute of Public Administration and Management (LIPAM) in the Ministry of Public Service. Lesotho submitted its self-assessment report and programme of action in November 2008, paving the way for the fielding of the Country Review Mission (CRM).


© All rights reserved Governance Institute for Sustainable Development (GISD)